Christmas Tag Post

1. What is your favourite Christmas Movie/s?

I love Miracle on 34th Street and the Home Alone films, as well as Eloise at Christmastime. Generally just really traditional Christmas movies.

2. Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

Definitely Christmas morning. I tend to open my sack first which is usually stocking fillers. It is a pillow case which my Aunty made me when I was little and it says, ‘Dear Santa, Kathryn has been a very good girl this year”. Haha Obviously!

3. Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

As some of you may know, or not know, my Mum died when I was 17 and so all of my childhood Christmases were really good as they remind me of my Mum. Although one year I really wanted an electronic typewriter and my Mum said they couldn’t afford one, but when I woke up on Christmas Day there was one under the tree.

4. Favourite festive food?

Definitely roast potatoes in duck fat! Although I love Christmas breakfast, a good English fry up, with champagne and fresh orange to drink. We always have a gammon joint on Boxing Day which is one of my favourites too.

5. Favourite Christmas gift?

Probably the typewriter! Although one year I had told my Mum that I wanted a few little bits and she bought me literally the tiniest teddy bear ornament I had ever seen, the size of my fingernail. So that was cute. Also, my Goddaughter’s Mum, Nickie always gets me really thoughtful presents, personalised gifts from the kids, which I love.

6. Favourite Christmas scent?

Cinnamon! I love the really strong Christmassy festive scents. Not a clue what they’re actually called but most people find them a bit pongy.

7. Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Until this year, I have always spent Christmas with my Mum’s family, as Dad goes to his partner Jan’s family’s for the day. This year however, as I am living with my boyfriend James, I am not sure what we will have planned. I normally like to go out for lunch, or a bit of shopping or a Christmas film/cinema trip.

8. What tops your tree?

Again, with me now living with James, I will be making new traditions. Our tree is going to have a silver rattan glittery star on the top of it this year.

9. As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for but never received?

I don’t think I have ever asked for anything extravagant, although my Dad would probably disagree haha! I used to always want like half of the Argos catalogue as a kid though!

10. What’s the best part about Christmas for you?

To be totally honest, I actually really dislike Christmas day since my Mum died, but I really enjoy the build up to Christmas, people tend to be more sociable, and happier. I love that people you haven’t heard from in a while will send a card or ask to meet up. I love the traditional, simple things about Christmas.

Leave a Reply

