Kneals Luxury Chocolates

Whilst browsing for some chocolates online I recently came across Kneals. For those of you who have not yet come across Kneals, here is a little bit about them…

 first

“Kneals is a Birmingham chocolate and confectionery business set up in September 2011, in partnership with my wife Gaëlle. We have always been passionate about food and wine and we often dreamt about creating our own food-related business. The previous year as I was working for a local bookbinder, my hours and my pay were cut by 25%. I felt disheartened at first but this ‘misfortune’ also allowed me to have time on my hands; that is when I decided to try something new. A few experiments (messy but fun!) confirmed my passion for chocolate and Kneals was born. The same year, over Christmas I tested my creations on family and friends with great results so it was with confidence that I enrolled in a 2 day course at the Chocolate Academy in Banbury. This was an eye-opener for me and I soon realised that the chocolates I had created up to that point, although good, were not to the standard I really wanted to achieve. After another two courses and a lot of experimenting, I created my luxury collection of 12 unique chocolates with its distinctive box incorporating our logo. In additon, we sell our products at independent retailers, cater for wedding and corporate favours or requests for special events and of course, we are aiming at developing our internet services. In November 2013, I was made redundant from my bookbinding job, but sad though it was, I realised it was the push from fate that I needed to take Kneals to another level. I am now able to offer chocolate parties, truffle-making workshops and as an artisan, I have so much fun coming up with innovative ideas and designs!”

Neil Hughes

main

I must admit that I love hearing the background of smaller companies and how they developed their product. Neil and Gaëlle have clearly worked hard to achieve such a level of perfection. Their gorgeous range includes chocolate bars, luxury box selections, truffles and chocolate gifts including mini handbags (super cute!). For those of you who live in Birmingham you can even book a Kneals chocolate party in your very own home! Mmmm I think every girl loves chocolate!

 chocs

I tried out the 12 Luxury Handmade Chocolates (£9.50) and received a luxurious looking box with a lovely bow tied at the side of the box. I could see the majority of the chocolates included through the clear window of the box – stunning golds, reds and chocolate brown colours appeared. Gold chocolate you ask? Well, yes! Some of my chocolates were sprinkled with gold dust which made them feel extra special and this really would be an amazing gift for someone special. This particular set includes the following flavours;

* Rum & Raisin

* Vanilla

* Chilli

* Lemon

* Double Choc

* Orange Crunch

* Amaretto

* Ginger

* Lavender

* Mocha

* Rose

* Soft Caramel

At just under 80pence per chocolate the quality and taste is outstanding, it is really hard to pick a favourite chocolate but at a push I would have to go for the Soft Caramel as it was dreamily smooth and so tasty.

inside

I definitely recommend trying Kneals Chocolates out, if not as a gift for someone then certainly a gift for yourself!

Kneals website is www.knealschocolates.com and they are also on Twitter @knealschocolate

Love,

Kathryn xx

Leave a Reply

