Sensationail Kit

I love having my nails painted, but the majority of the time the polish chips off after a couple of days, which was when gel polishes came in really handy as they are a heat-cured manicure that lasts around two weeks without chipping. The only downside to gel manicures is that they can be pretty expensive to have done in a salon, sometimes up to £50 a treatment in more exclusive salons. So now what’s the answer? Sensationail. This is a gel manicure kit than you yourself can do in your very own home.

 flowers kit

The kit comes with everything you need, a nail file, lint-free wipes, a cuticle stick, Gel Cleanser, Gel Primer, Gel Base & Top Coat, Color (American spelling) Gel Polish and the lamp that cures the polish. I did Beauty Science at college and so one would think I would be good when it comes to doing my own nails, but this isn’t the case – the left hand is often decent but then when it comes to doing my right hand, I get just as much polish on my skin as I do my nails. So, could I master this money-saving, time-saving machine?

 kit

Firstly, here is the process, which took me about 30-45 minutes max.

Prepare

* File and lightly buff the natural nail

* Using the Lint-free wipe, clean the nails with the Gel Cleanser

* Apply one layer of the Gel Primer to the nail and let it air dry for a minute or two

* Apply a thin layer of the Gel Base & Top Coat. It is really important to use a thin layer as I used a little too much and it was a little sticky. Avoid skin and cuticle – this wasn’t easy when I came to my right hand but it didn’t matter too much

* Cap the natural nail by running the polish brush along the nail tip. Then cure for 30 seconds under the lamp

 lamp

Lacquer Up

* Apply a thin layer of the Color Gel Polish, again avoiding the skin and cuticle. Cap the natural nail and cure for 60 seconds under the lamp. Apply a second layer of the Color Gel Polish and cure again for 60 seconds

Protect

* Apply a thin layer of the Gel Base & Top Coat, again avoiding the cuticle and skin. Cap the natural nail and cure for 30 seconds

* Remove the moisture layer using the Gel Cleanser and Lint-free wipes

As you can see, the step-by-step instructions are so easy to follow and really takes no time at all. I was really impressed with the final result and my nails are still glossy and chip-free 5 days later. Now they look by no means perfect as I have to work on avoiding my cuticles, but for my first attempt I am really pleased and actually quite proud of myself, and of course Sensationail. If I can do it, you definitely can!

 nails

Have you tried gel manicures before? What did you think?

Check out the full range of gorgeous colours at www.sensationail.co.uk

Love,

Kathryn xx

Leave a Reply

