It’s Summertime!

Bonjour petals,

I’ve been really rubbish at blogging recently as I’ve just been so busy! If I’m not at work, I’m doing other work and bits and pieces so it’s been a bit mental, but Kathryn has been posting some great reviews before she went on holiday! She comes back from Egypt this evening, so I promise we’ll have a business meeting (or just a catch up and gossip involving lots food and drinks 😉) when she’s back and get back on it!

I thought I’d just write a little post talking about what I’ve been up to and what I’ve been buying and loving recently because I don’t know about you, but I love it when bloggers do little lifestyle posts! Even if it’s not super interesting, the nosey person I am just likes to know, especially if they do it in vlog form! (I love that Zoella is vlogging every day in June, she has such an exciting life!)

Firstly, I’ll tell you about a trip to Manchester I took at the beginning of the month. I can honestly say it was one of the best weekends of my life; my best friends, nice food, lots of cocktails… AND ONE DIRECTION!

We went to Rio Ferdinand’s restaurant Rossos which was amazing (the pizzas are lovely!) and sat in the sunshine having a few Rekorderligs and Cocktails before the show, and went to the champagne bar in Selfridges for a glass of fizz (avoiding the Michael Kors bags and Mac counter so as not to damage our bank balances more than we did!). We stayed in The Works Aparthotel, which was like having our own city centre apartment. My friend Abbie made us breakfast the next day too which was so good (thanks again, Abs!)

If you don’t know me well, or at all, actually, I’m ALWAYS singing an out of tune, screechy rendition of Midnight Memories, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE One Direction!

The Where We Are tour was incredible! So much so, it passed in the blink of an eye! We had the best night singing, dancing and probably annoying everyone around us, but we had so much fun!

Here’s a few pictures from the day:

20140617-205500-75300504.jpg

20140617-205500-75300156.jpg

20140617-205500-75300585.jpg

20140617-205500-75300420.jpg

20140617-205500-75300699.jpg

20140617-205500-75300896.jpg

A couple of weekends earlier, I visited one of my best friends, Laura, in London. My dad and uncle went to the FA cup final to watch Hull City get beaten by Arsenal (we were robbed!) so I took advantage of getting a free lift down!

Although I was there for less than 24 hours, I had such a good time catching up. I used to live with her in Newcastle, so whenever we get together, it’s like no time has passed at all!

20140617-210714-76034093.jpg

I’ve also made a few purchases lately which I thought I’d rave about!

As summer is here (although on some days, it doesn’t feel that way) I HAVE to have a tan!

I recently discovered Soltan Beautiful Bronze Self Tan Mousse.

20140617-211106-76266511.jpg

This fake tan is incredible! It’s a crunchy sounding mousse much like Fake Bake mousse. For some strange reason, I find the sound of it really satisfying! It expands on your tanning mitt, so the bottle lasts a long time! It gives the most incredible colour. I usually like darker shades of tan, but much prefer the Light/ Medium in this to the Medium/ Dark!

It also smells really nice! Not biscuity at all. It does have a fake tan smell to it but I really like it; it’s sort of fruity, sort of sweet, a little fake tanny, but the overall scent is pretty good!

It’s £9.99 a bottle, but they occasionally also have it on special offer!

Real Techniques Face Expert Brush

I purchased this brush on a whim really. I’d heard good things about it but had never been like OH MY GOD I NEED THIS! I got it in Superdrug one Saturday afternoon after going for lunch with my friends Jemma and Keira. As a fellow Tanya Burr fan, Jemma and I started discussing her latest video, I think it was the Nicole Sherzinger Missguided tutorial video, and Keira said the words that we dread from our friends: “who’s Tanya Burr?!” Of course, we had to convert her and swiftly moved to Superdrug to introduce her to Tanya’s cosmetics range.

As her stand is next to Real Techniques, I thought it would be rude not to make a purchase as they were on offer (buy one, get one half price – I made Keira buy the Core Collection as she didn’t own any… Times have now changed, thank goodness)

I love this brush. It blends your foundation beautifully and I now don’t know how I lived without it! It’s a must have for any make-up wearer!

20140617-213149-77509591.jpg
(Apologies for how dirty it is… I will endeavour to wash it as soon as physically possible!)

Coca Brown Fake Tan

Another tan I tried out recently after seeing so much hype was the Cocoa Brown 1 Hour Tan Mousse.

I do really like the colour of this, it was dark and a really rich brown, but I’m not sure it’s worth the hype!

I found it difficult to apply as it had hardly any colour to it originally, and ending up quite streaky around my wrists and ankles which is never a good look. It was also quite dry, so I felt I had to put a lot on my mitt.

I will use it again though and would like to try other products in the range. If it’s good enough for Millie Mackintosh, it’s good enough for me!

I picked this up in Primark actually, for just £6!

20140617-213612-77772868.jpg

got2b Volumizing Spray Mousse

I’m not a huge fan of using mousse in my hair… I’m not the type to go for a scrunched curly wet look, which is what I always associate with hair mousse. But when I saw this on the shelf, I thought I’d give it a go for volumising purposes!

It’s a spray, so you can spray it directly on to your hair, or like me, spray it into your hands to plump up your hair.

I recently took a big step in life and got my hair cut. Yes, I know you’re supposed to get it cut every 8 weeks(ish) to keep it healthy, but I had a nightmare and got it butchered by some idiot who needs her qualifications stripped of her, and it scarred me for life.

Since having it cut and coloured (I’m now a Zoella-esque ombré!) I’ve really enjoyed wearing it curled. I’ve ditched my ratty extensions and I’m embracing the natural length, and I feel a wavey style suits it a lot better.

This little beauty keeps it all in place and volumised, and the smell of this is INCREDIBLE!

It smells like Sherbert mixed with forest fruits and it makes me want to inhale my hair every time I get a wiff (I’m saying some really strange things in this post…). It really is gorgeous though, the best smelling hair product I’ve ever come across!

20140617-214246-78166248.jpg

Revlon Colourburst Lip Butter

Another hyped product that I decided to try was the Revlon Colourburst butters. I went for Wild Watermelon which is a gorgeous reddy, coral colour (if that exists!)

It feels so nice on the lips, and you can build it up for a brighter shade, or use just one coat for a daytime look. I’ve been wearing it so much, as it adds a pop of colour to any look, whilst being moisturising on the lips!

20140617-214717-78437148.jpg

20140617-214716-78436262.jpg

20140617-214715-78435353.jpg

Seventeen Skin WOW! Highlighter

I’ve wanted a creamy highlighter for ages, but didn’t want to spend loads of money on it, so decided to give this ago and love it!

It’s so easy to apply to the tops of the cheek bones. I blend it in slightly with my Expert Facebrush after doing my foundation, powder, bronzer and blusher (I don’t know if you’re supposed to do this, but it works)

It comes out as a silvery cream, so I dot a tiny bit on the back of my hand, no bigger than a pea. It looks like it will last for ages, and gives a gorgeous dewy glow when it catches the light!

It’s so cheap too, I think I paid around £5 for it, so it definitely doesn’t break the bank!

20140617-215209-78729458.jpg

20140617-215208-78728553.jpg

And lastly, on the worlds longest blog post (if you read this far, thanks for sticking with me!) I’ve been really enjoying wearing this camisole style from Dorothy Perkins.

I have two now, and will probably purchase more, as they’re so easy to wear and hang really nicely.

You can dress them up by tucking them in to a skater skirt with a statement necklace, or down with leggings and converse. I’ve even worn them to work a few times with pencil skirts and a black cardigan.

They’re only £12 and come in so many prints and colours! I’ll be purchasing some more on payday!

This one is one of my favourite prints:

20140617-215516-78916535.jpg

And that, my friends, is a wrap! Sorry if I’ve rambled on for about a century but I just thought I’d do a little haul/ lifestyle post all in one as I personally love reading them!

We’ll get some more reviews on the website as soon as we can (my blog bag is still humongous!) and if you did get this far, you deserve a medal! Let me know in the comments if you did 🙂

Love, Emily x

Leave a Reply

