Kathryn’s Summer 2014 Essentials

According to my countdown app on my iPhone, there are 26 days, 4 hours, 3 minutes and 35 seconds until I go to Egypt with my boyfriend James. Therefore I wanted to do a blog post on some of my recent finds, which will definitely be going in my suitcase to Egypt. 

Lancome Hypnose Waterproof Mascara

Waterproof mascara is an absolute essential on holiday, all that swimming, and 40 degree heat plays havoc with the mascara! As you may have read in previous posts, Lancome mascara is one of my favourites and I ordered this waterproof version especially for my holiday. I was lucky enough to get it for just £10 when Debenhams were doing a special offer where all of the Lancome mascaras were just £10 each. You can sign up for notifications of such amazing offers via their Beauty Card Club. Hypnose mascara separates your lashes without clumping them together as well as providing volume, which in my case is much needed!

Image

River Island Neon Clutch Bag

One thing I absolutely adore about summer is the chance to wear bright colours and not look out of place. I discovered this amazing clutch bag on River Island’s website last month and HAD to order it right away. It is a good size and you can fit your iPhone in, lipstick, keys etc and is made from a sturdy gold coloured frame, with a champagne coloured satin material on which a stunning array of gems, stones and beads are attached in the most beautiful neon colours. This bag will literally go with anything and at £35 it isn’t the cheapest clutch bag around but comes with a gold chain so you can use it as a shoulder bag or a cross body bag too, which I think will be extremely helpful when I am on holiday as it will free up both my hands for cocktails – it is all inclusive and so it would be rude not to!

Image

Clarins Sun Care Oil Spray

My boyfriend calls me Casper (as in the friendly ghost, and not because of my friendliness, but because of the colour of my skin) – I literally never tan. When I was a little girl I used to go the most beautiful shade of brown but now the sun looks at me and provides me with a nice little redness out of pity. As some of you may know I went to Florida in March for my 30th and even then I barely got a hint of a tan! Therefore I decided to go a little more upmarket with my sun protection choice in the hope that I will achieve some kind of bronzed glow and got the Clarins Sun Care Oil Spray. It has an SPF of 30 and protects from both UVA and UVB rays. This is sun protection with a difference, and can be used on the skin and on your hair. It is a transparent dry oil, but certainly doesn’t have that horrid oily feel to it. It is both water and perspiration resistant and nourishes and beautifies the skin and hair, which will hopefully help my skin to achieve the glowing look, rather than looking like Madge from Benidorm with dry crinkly skin and dry split ends in my hair. You can get the Sun Care Oil Spray from http://www.clarins.co.uk or stores such as Debenhams, House of Fraser etc and for a 150ml bottle costs £19.

Image

Ms Pedicure Smooth Talker Foot Rasp

Whilst we are on the subject of skin, I picked this beauty up from Home Bargains recently for just 99p! Pedicures can be expensive, and so in-between treatments it is helpful to do a little home care. I soak my feet in hot soapy water to soften the cuticles and rough skin, I then use the Ms Pedicure Smooth Talker Foot Rasp to remove dry skin on my heels and the soles of my feet. Now I aren’t 85 with corns and callouses, but I’m sure most of you can agree that wearing sandals and flip flops can cause dry skin and it certainly doesn’t look very pretty, even if you have painted your nails the prettiest of colours. I then use some moisturising cream and put a pair of old socks over the cream and leave them on over night, but please beware, your feet can be extra slippery the next day, as Emily found out whilst at work 🙂

Image

Ray Bans Folding Wayfarer

For the past few years I have been using my Ray Bans Aviators and have loved them, but as they have quite a light lens, the sun can sometimes be a little too strong for my sensitive eyes. Therefore, when in Florida in March, I decided to invest in a pair of wayfarers as they are sturdier than the Aviators and have a darker lens. I decided that the folding ones suited me the most and was thoroughly thrilled as they fold up in half and so the case they come in is so easy to slip into most handbags. I literally have not removed these sunglasses (whilst being outside) since I bought them and even though they do fold up, they are still very sturdy, and I have dropped them a few times and no chips or breakages! As I said I did buy mine in America but you can purchase them over here for around £150, simply search Ray Bans Folding Aviators into Google!

Image

Angel Eau Sucree

Thierry Mugler totally has my heart with regards to perfume. I have had bottle after bottle of Alien and Angel, also trying out Womanity, and summer versions of both Alien and Angel over the past 8 years. I have tried other perfumes but never have I loved and re-bought a perfume over and over as much as I have Mugler’s. When browsing around House of Fraser in Meadowhall the other weekend, I saw the new Angel Eau Sucree and I will be honest that my first impressions of the name were Sucree = sugar maybe in French, which would mean that the perfume would be sweet, which is definitely not my thing. I love my perfumes musky and deep, which Mugler never disappoints with. But I ignored my sweet thoughts and gave it a spray, and another 4 sprays later and I was in LOVE. The bottle is in the original Angel design but looks like it has been dusted in sugar. The fragrance is definitely still Angel but has a sweetness that is in no way sickly but more heavenly. This is definitely one to pop into your basket at Duty Free girls! You can purchase Angel Eau De Sucree for £42 for 50ml.

Image

Fearne Cotton Embellished Playsuit

I know they have been in the shops a couple of years now, but this summer I am loving the playsuits that are around and have already purchased a few for Egypt. They are cute, easy to wear, and you can dress them up or down. I came across this Fearne Cotton Embelllished Playsuit on http://www.very.co.uk and again, fell in love. It is a lined, chiffon material, but not see through, and is adorned with swirls of iridescent sequins in oranges, pinks and yellows, much like a sunset. The base colour of the playsuit is grey, which is not normally a colour I would choose, and has metal and glass stones and embellishments adorned onto it. I am not a skinny person, and I often thought playsuits were for skinny girls, which lets face it, most things do look better on a thinner figure, but I enjoy eating out and trying delicious food rather than spending my days sweating it out in the gym. But when I tried this playsuit on I thought it looked so lovely, and once I (hopefully) get a tan, I’m sure it will look even better! It costs £49 and so is not the cheapest playsuit around, but definitely worth the money for that special holiday or occasion.

Image

Clarins Colours Of Brazil

With the World Cup taking place in Brazil, Clarins have brought out a range of Brazil themed cosmetics. Rather than wearing the colours of Brazil as face paint, I decided I would much rather use this beautiful range. 

Lip Balm Crayon

Many cosmetic brands have recently brought out the lip balm crayons. These are tubes of colour that moisturise the lips as well as looking great. Clarins have released a range of six colours and I chose the ‘My Pink’ which adapts to the pH of your skin to give you a unique colour suited to your skin colour. I have a Bourjois cream blusher which does this and am in love with it. I decided to choose this colour as I thought it would be pretty and natural for my holiday, as well as keeping my lips cared for in the harsh sunshine and heat. It has a slight shimmer to it and has a twist up mechanism once it wears down. They are priced at £18 and are available from http://www.clarins.co.uk as well as places like Boots, Debenhams etc.

Image

Eye Quartet and Liner Palette

I wanted a small eyeshadow palette to take on holiday with me, rather than carting my whole collection away with me and this new palette is perfect for that. The case has a brown Aztec design and inside is just as pretty. The Aztec design continues onto the eyeshadows and it comes two little brushes and a mirror on the inside cover. There are 4 eyeshadows, a dark brown, a medium taupe colour, a light caramel colour and an unusual peachy orange. The liner is a royal blue. It may sound like a bizarre mix, but when the Clarins consultant showed me how to use it, it looked stunning. With a clash of such natural and bright colours, it is a perfect mix for taking away with you and also comes with a mini demonstration card. This palette is available from the aforementioned places for £32.

Image

Accessorize Earrings and Hair Bobbles

As mentioned when talking about my love of bright colours, summer is a perfect time for them. I recently discovered these beauties at Accessorize. 

Neon Mixed Stud Earrings

Here you get five pairs of pastel and neon mixed stud earrings. They are a good size, not too showy, but not miniature either. Each pair is totally different from the next and I thought they would be perfect again for taking on holiday as there will be a pair to go with most outfits, without having to take my entire jewellery collection with me. At just £10 these are an absolute steal and bang on trend!

Image

Angel Mini Bow Hair Bobbles

These are actually from the children’s section of Accessorize! But I thought they were super cute, fun and girly rather than the plain boring hair bobbles. A mixture of glitter, neon, pastel, floral and spotty, again these will be going in my suitcase to ensure my hair looks cute even when its scraped back. They cost just £4 for 5 bobbles.

Image

Speak Soon

Love, Kathryn xxx

 

 

 

One thought on “Kathryn’s Summer 2014 Essentials

Leave a Reply

