100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara

Has anyone ever asked you the question ‘If you were stranded on a desert island and could only have one item of make up, what would it be?’ Without a doubt, my answer would be mascara. It’s just an amazing invention really, isn’t it? If I’m having a no make up day and have to pop to the shops, I’m the type of person who still routes around in my bag for a quick coat of mascara before leaving the house.

There are so many mascaras out there that choosing one can be a fairly daunting task. Each claims to do something another doesn’t. Volume, length, coverage, separation, false lash effect, blacker than black, new formula, new scientific brush proven to do everything you can ever think of… They claim to do a LOT.

Therefore, I’m always on the look out to try something new, something that really DOES do everything it says on the tin and gives you the the world’s best lashes.

20140424-103521.jpg
Copyright: Mad About Makeup

I tried out the 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Mascara, in Black Tea.

My first impressions weren’t great. The mascara is in a lovely silver, shiny tube which looks really expensive, but it comes in a cardboard tube packaging, which, in all honesty, looks like a tampon. I apologise, but it’s true.

20140424-105209.jpg

The tube itself though is lovely. The silver packaging makes it look really high end and the inscriptions on the tube are a lovely touch.

20140424-105724.jpg

The brush itself is really great. I’m a big fan of a thin, long brush, as I personally think it gives the longest lash effect, which is then easy to build upon for the volume you desire. Therefore, this was great.

20140424-105410.jpg

The Black tea fragrance wasn’t unpleasant but it wasn’t great. It smelt slightly like tea, but it wasn’t a smell that I instantly wanted to apply to my eyes. Slightly odd, but as I say, not exactly unpleasant.

The mascara is 100% natural, which is something that really attracts me to the product, and claims to lengthen, separate, thicken and gloss lashes using black tea, chocolate and berry pigments. Sounds more like a cake than a mascara, but a really good cake all the same.

It is gentle, containing provitamin B5, Vitamin E, oat and wheat protein which straightens the lashes. As I say, it claims to do a whole lot of stuff, yet there’s still something I’m not too sure about.

Yes, it’s extremely glossy, it separates the lashes and lengthens, but I felt like I had zero volume. It is a very natural looking mascara, which is ideal for day to day use but I wanted just that bit more volume for it to appeal.

Overall, I probably wouldn’t purchase this product myself, although the brand is brilliant. They also do blushes, lip products, eyeshadow, lip products and creams which I’d love to try out soon.

20140424-110519.jpg

The mascara is £15, and would be perfect for vegans and people who love natural make up as it really is 100% Pure!

Leave a Reply

