Brazilian Blow Dry

Like many people these days living a hectic lifestyle, I don’t really like to spend a lot of time on my hair, unless I am preparing for a night around the town. I would much prefer to grab an extra half an hour in bed before work then sit styling my hair, and when I visit the gym on an evening I am forever having to wash then restyle it again. This just gets too annoying especially when I’d rather be doing other things. My hair can only be described as a thick, uncontrollable, frizzy mess and I have many memories from school of being called Krusty The Clown from The Simpsons, Arnold from Hey Arnold or Linda from Gimme, Gimme, Gimme because of the way my hair looked. Often when I wash and leave it to dry the resulting style can only be described as a “triangle head”. After discussing the state of my hair with my hairdresser (Echo Unisex Hair Studio in Goole;  www.facebook.com/echo.unisexhairstudio) and explaining how hard it is to style and how time consuming, they recommended I give the ‘Brazilian Blow Dry’ a try.

Before the treatment:

Image

They explained the process to me and after seeing pictures showing other client’s results, I decided ‘why not’. Having tried many other products before claiming ‘smoother, sleeker hair’ and not having much success, there was nothing to loose. The process used on me was called ‘Lisse Design Kertain Therapy’ which is a straightening treatment, claimed to last up to three months, depending on your hair type and how often you wash your hair. This version was formaldehyde free which can be seen as a less harmful chemical than that used in some other Brazilian treatments. It is said to give smooth, velvety, glossy, tangle free hair and help to eliminate the frizz, which to me sounds like a dream come true (if it works). I admit I was quite dubious as other products which claim to do similar have never worked before. 

Now for the science:

Keratin combined with the properties of oils:

• Kera-Collagen Complex

Complex containing Hydrolysed Keratin and Quaternised Collagen. The complex that guarantees long-lasting smoothness. With the aid of heat, it reshapes the arrangement of the hair’s keratin chains, straightening them to give the characteristic smooth result. 

• Babassu oil

A precious oil with extraordinary emollient properties from the Amazon leaves hair soft, silky and shiny”

After:

Image

When I arrived at the salon they first washed my hair with a clarifying shampoo and conditioner, then blow-dried it until dry. The hair was sectioned off and the Keratin treatment was applied through the hair from root to tip; this was then left on the hair for ten minutes and combed through about half way through the time. A ceramic straightening iron is then pulled through the hair and each section is ironed up to seven times, until the steam dissipates as the treatment is sealed into the hair. This is then washed off and a conditioning mask is used and left on for five minutes. The treatment now completed, the hair can be styled as normal, taking a total of nearly 3 hours for the whole process. Immediately I noticed how the thickness of my hair had been reduced and I was left with hair that appeared naturally healthy and straight with no flyaway whatsoever, AMAZING!! The same night I went out on the town and was thrilled to have so many compliments about the condition of my hair. As the night wore on, even after some energetic dancing, it did not frizz up one little bit. I was dreading washing my hair the next day as I was half expecting it to return to its normal state. The manufacturer advises the use of shampoo’s and products that are sodium chloride (salt) free, as this can strip the Keratin from the hair thus reducing the longevity of the treatment.

After washing:

Image

As you can see from the picture the promise of “cutting styling time down by up to 75%”, was definitely true. I simply now just have to run the straightening irons over my hair just a few times, or just blow-dry to get that straighter look, whereas before it would take at least 40 minutes. This means I am now using less heat on my hair and causing much less damage in the long run.  I am so pleased with the results and would definitely recommend the ‘Brazilian Blow Dry’ to anyone thinking of having the process done.

Love a happy – headed

Alyson x

Leave a Reply

