Get To Know Us!

The Kats Paws has been blogging for a few months now, and we can’t believe how popular it has been- we’re really grateful to you all for making our project a success πŸ™‚

As you know, we are Emily and Kathryn, but we thought it would be a great idea to take this opportunity to let you know a little bit more about us and what we like!

We also did this separately so our answers may be similar or they may be completely different! Who knows, let’s find out!

20140126-193021.jpg

Full name:

E: Emily Faye Pawson

K: Kathryn Joanne Watson

Age:

E: 23 with the mentality of a 17 year old!

K: 29

Where do you live?

E: On the outskirts of Hull, East Yorkshire.

K: Goole, East Yorkshire, UK

Height:

E: 5ft 5/6ins I think. I think I have some form of height dysphormia though, as I see myself as a lot taller!

K: 5ft 3ins

What do you do in your spare time?

E: Mainly blogging! We both work 9-5 so this takes up most of our evenings (it’s just as well that we love it!) I also get dragged to the gym a few times a week by my friend Holly to take part in Zumba, Body Combat and Body Jam classes. I did try spinning once but I got cramp in my foot then fell off my bike… It wasn’t my finest moment and I haven’t returned. At the weekends I like going shopping (when the funds permit it), going for lunch with my friends and having a few drinks with the girls! I’m also learning to drive so have a few lessons a week, and write articles and book reviews for work. I like going to concerts too, last year I saw Robbie Williams and Olly Murs, and this year it’s all about ONE DIRECTION!

20140126-200758.jpg

20140126-195612.jpg
Emily with her friend Laura and mum Karen at the Robbie concert!

K: The blog takes up quite a bit of my spare time, but I love doing it, it stops me from munching on too many chocolate bars whilst I’m sat at home on an evening. Apart from that I love spending time with Willow, my 4 year old Goddaughter, we usually go shopping or out for lunch. I also go to Old Trafford to watch my beloved Manchester United and love spending summer weekends at Butlins in Skegness where I once worked for a summer a few years ago. I enjoy geeky things such as reading, writing to my pen pals and going out on my beautiful old fashioned bicycle, as well as playing golf with my Dad and spending time with my cute black and white cat Daisy-May.

20140126-195104.jpg

20140126-195200.jpg
Kathryn and Willow

Is your hair naturally straight or curly?

E: Curly. Oh so curly and unmanageable!

K: Naturally lank, a bit wavy. Neither poker straight or curly.

Natural hair colour?

E: a dark brown colour. A bit mousey, a bit boring.

K: A medium bland brown

Do you dye it- at home or at the salon?

E: Yep, at home. I decided to go lighter for the summer and still striving for the perfect colour so am often putting dark blonde / light brown colours on. I particularly love the foam dyes you can get now- they’re so easy to use!

K: A bit of both, depending on the amount of money I have spare, I also hate having to sit in a chair for 3 hairs straight, it bores me to death as I don’t have a great attention span.

How do you wear your hair?

E: I prefer to wear it down with my extensions in which are quite natural looking but add length and thickness. During the week for work, I usually whack it up in a messy bun.

K: At work, I usually wear it up in a scruffy bun as I much prefer to have an extra half hours sleep, but on weekends etc I usually wear it down, or curl it with the straighteners (however bizarre that sounds) and often clip back my fringe with whatever flowery, spotty dotty, rainbow coloured clip I can find. (Willow and I often share hair clips and Next Kids section does a great selection haha)

What is your favourite hair product?

E: Definitely Neal & Wolf Silk Balm! It’s a miracle worker!

K: I’m not a massive fan of hair products as I hate the greasy feeling most leave behind but I do use Batiste on a daily basis as I love the texture it gives. Best hair product invented ever!

How often do you change your nail colour?

E: I am rubbish at painting my nails so hardly ever! I also pick my nail varnish off when I’m concentrating or am bored!

K: I’ll be honest I’m quite a lazy person sometimes and I always have the good intentions of painting my nails but then daily activities/sleep/tv often get in the way.

20140126-194854.jpg

Favourite nail varnish brand?

E: Probably Nails Inc, as it’s so easy to apply and I love the consistency, but am also a fan of Barry M colours!

K: OPI are the longest lasting in my opinion, but Nails Inc do really funky shades and trends.

20140126-201120.jpg

How long does it take you to do your make up?

E: this depends, but usually about half an hour! If I’m in a rush, I can do it in 10-15 minutes, but if I’m doing it properly then definitely longer. It’s also a lot longer if I’m experimenting with new products or styles or getting ready for a night out.

K: Depends on what/where I’m going/doing….can be anywhere between 10 minutes to an hour!

Do you do your eyes or face first?

E: I do my primer, foundation and brows first, followed by my eyes, then go back to my face at the end with concealer to fix mascara mistakes, bronzer and blusher, then finish with the lip colour of the day.

K: Face, as I often get mascara around my eyes and so I wipe this off and then touch up with concealer.

Do you collect make up products or do you just buy it when you need it?

E: I used to be a one at the time girl but recently my collection has been growing. I’m currently using about 6 mascaras, 3 foundations, 3 blushers, 4 eyeliners and umpteen lip products but only have one of each of my higher end products- MAC powder, Bobbi Brown bronzer and Benefit Brow Zings. I also love to try out new products on the stands of Boots and Superdrug, so grab them when I see them!

20140126-201431.jpg

K: I am such a hoarder! I buy more than I need! I can’t resist a bargain, new product or trend and love trying them out.

20140126-195946.jpg

(This is HALF of Kathryn’s wardrobe… Just as evidence of her hoarder tendencies!)

How often do you wear false eyelashes?

E: Quite a lot! I love wearing falsies and wear them usually on the weekends and definitely for a night out! The only time I don’t wear them is in the office.

K: I have really short thin straight lashes and I really dislike them and so I used to wear them on a daily basis but they were making my natural lashes look dreadful from all the glue and so now I just wear them when I’m going out. We have a few products to help with poor lashes so keep an eye out for those reviews!

Do you prefer high end or drugstore make up?

E: a mixture of both! I’ve kind of answered this question above. I’d love to use all high end products but I can’t really afford to, plus drugstore make up can be brilliant. The ranges are a lot bigger too, so you can test out all sorts without breaking the bank.

K: I definitely prefer designer make up, call me a snob, but I always get a special feeling when purchasing a cosmetic item that is presented in a glossy box and then popped into a bag and tied with a ribbon. You also more often than not get chance to try out higher end cosmetics and get assistance and tips as they have counters within department stores where you can visit.

Favourite brand?

E: It differs for each product, but if I had to choose one it would probably be Rimmel, as they have such a wide variety to choose from and I love their foundation, powder, mascara and lipsticks which is all you really need in life πŸ™‚ I also love Benefit and Bobbi Brown.

K: Make up wise at the moment I’d say Lancome for skin and foundation, MAC for their Skin Finish powder, Benefit or Too Faced for Blusher, HD Brows Pallette for eye brows, Yves Saint Laurent and Lancome for eye make up.

If you could only wear one make up item, what would it be?

E: Definitely mascara!! I don’t leave the house without it!

K: Mascara without a doubt. I would have said foundation not so long ago but my skin has recently improved after using a few different products and my Magnitone Pulsar!

How often do you change your handbag?

E: Not that often. I carry so much stuff around with me that when it’s all in one home, it’s so much easier. I usually use a bag until it’s on it’s last legs. I have tonnes of bags but never use them. I think if you swap and change you kind of forget what you have or they go out of fashion and you much prefer your newer purchase to one you bought years ago! I am, however, DESPERATE for a Mulberry- one day, eh πŸ™‚

K: Weekly I guess. I love my handbags, they’re some of my favourite material possessions. I have Chloe, Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Fendi, Miu Miu, Dooney & Bourke and my recent faves Kate Spade.

What clothing item couldn’t you live without?

E: This is a toughie but probably leggings as I seem to wear them more than anything else, with long tops or little dresses. They’re just so versatile and you can dress them up with heels or down with Uggs and a hoodie! My favourites at the minute are a green tartan pair from Topshop.

K: A hoody. Not in a chavvy way, but they are so versatile and comfy. I have lots, including one my friend did with a painting of me on πŸ™‚

Heels or flats?

E: I’d love to be one of those people who wears heels every day but a) I’d feel a bit too dressy and b) I can’t actually walk in heels very well! I’ve actually got a really damaged ankle at the minute from cockling over in some killers. It now keeps clicking when I walk! Can anyone diagnose this?

K: If I could avoid frostbite in winter, I would totally wear flip flops 365 days a year! I hate having shoes on my feet for some bizarre reason. But obviously I love the feeling of having a bit of extra height when wearing heels on a night out, and I totally cannot dance in flats!

Do you wear an item of jewellery every day?

E: Most days I wear my silver Pandora bracelet which is starting to really fill up with charms and my tan rope Pandora bracelet which I like to keep plain. Also, I wear a gorgeous bracelet that Kathryn bought me for Christmas quite a lot!

20140126-200137.jpg

K: Pretty much everyday but not necessarily the same item. The jewellery I am wearing most at the moment, is some black and gold Marc Jacobs stud earrings, a gold and cream ring from River Island, my Tatty Divine Januzaj necklace and my Michael Kors watch collection.

What time do you go to bed?

E: I usually head to bed at about 10pm-11pm on a week night but don’t often fall asleep until midnight as I spend time checking social networks and blogs for post ideas and new products that people are testing out.

K: During the week I like to be in bed around 10ish but I am a rubbish sleeper and can be laid awake until 2am some nights 😦 obviously on a weekend it is when I get in, or feel tired.

Who are your favourite bloggers?

E: I read and watch a lot of bloggers, with my absolute favourites being Zoella and Tanya Burr. I also like watching Louise (Sprinkle Of Glitter), Alfie (Pointless Blog), Jim Chapman and Fleur De Force, oh and Daily Grace is hilarious!
And of course, Kathryn of the Kats Paws πŸ™‚

K: Emily Pawson of The Kats Paws!

And finally… How did you come up with the name of your blog?

Well Kathryn is Kat, Emily is Paws and together we make THE KATS PAWS πŸ™‚

20140126-200410.jpg

Thanks for reading the post and hope you enjoyed it!

Love,
Emily and Kathryn xxx

Leave a Reply

