Emily’s December / January Haul

On the Kats Paws, we’ve been showing you a lot of products which we have been sent to test out and review, so I thought I’d show you some of my recent purchases that I am absolutely loving!

20140110-235942.jpg

1) Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Since the Naked 3 palette launched a few weeks ago, I have been desperate to get my hands on it, so with some Christmas money given to me, I finally decided to take the plunge.
For anyone who follows us on Twitter, you’ll have seen how excited I was to receive it and to be honest, it’s better than I could have imagined! I’ve used it every single day since, and although it was pretty expensive at £37, I’m definitely getting my money’s worth.

The colours are absolutely gorgeous and I’ve been combining the different shades to create different looks, and receiving a lot of compliments on my eye make-up (particularly from Kat who wants me to do her make-up for her next week to try out a few styles in preparation for her 30th birthday weekend next month when we head to Butlins!)

I am in love with the Naked 3 palette and every single colour has been used so far, which is different to a lot of other palettes I own, where some have never been touched.

The pigmentation is gorgeous and they’re easy to apply. I know I’ll be using this for a long time to come!

20140110-235916.jpg

2) Real Techniques Brushes

I already had a couple of Real Techniques brushes and recently decided to buy a few more. When I visited the Boots website to have a look, the offer of buy one get one half price was way too appealing and I ended up purchasing NINE brushes (I know, I need to stop splurging!)

I purchased the Core collection and the Starter set. Each brush is labelled with its correct use and the bristles are soft and dense, making usage really easy. They leave your make-up looking flawless and I don’t know how I’ve coped without them! I think they offer is still on at Boots, so grab the bargain fast!

20140111-003958.jpg

3) Body Shop Skin Primer Matte It

I’d read a few reviews online about this primer and really wanted to give it a go. I went shopping in Leeds a few weeks ago now and remembered I had a Body Shop card in my purse that I got free in last months Glamour magazine. The card was for either £3, £15 or £50 to spend in Boots, so thought I’d pop in and see how much I was lucky enough to have- £15!!

I decided to spend it on this primer, and am really impressed. It leaves your skin really soft, matte and flawless ready for your foundation and keeps your make-up in tact all day! It’s definitely one of the best primers I’ve ever used and will definitely be purchasing another when this one eventually runs out! It’s well worth the £12.

4) Mac Studio Fix Powder

I’ve only just really got into Mac make-up and was often put off by the hype that is always surrounding it. I’ve also never got attached to products because we don’t have a Mac counter in Hull where I live, something which is a crime and needs to be addressed! (Please sort this out Mac, we are the City of Culture now after all!)

I decided to buy this particular powder after trying out my friend Laura’s and think it’s brilliant! It leaves and even coverage and matte finish, and can be used on its own as well as with foundation. If I’m in a rush, I’ll just use the powder and still see brilliant coverage!

20140111-004238.jpg

5) Topshop Tartan Leggings

I am absolutely loving the Tartan trend and can’t stop buying new products with this print- the latest being these leggings.

I opted for the green colour rather than standard red as I thought they would go with more outfits and I’d get more wear out of them. I also decided on a darker shade as I think a bright colour is hard to pull off on your bottom half if you’re not stick thin- which I’m not. (But am currently on a major diet- wish me luck!)

These fit brilliantly, are thick and durable and can be mixed with a variety of items to keep the trend looking fresh. They’re also available in different colours, so you can collect the whole range if you’re super into tartan!

20140111-004426.jpg

(I wish my legs looked this good in them though…)

6) Soap and Glory

A lot of you will have been fighting your way through online queues for the Jonathan Saunders Soap and Glory set which was the Boots star buy just before Christmas, and myself and Kathryn where both lucky enough to snap one up.

I’m a massive Soap and Glory fan and think their toiletries are amazing. They smell delicious and leave your skin feeling soft and smooth.

The set featured the Butter Yourself moisture lotion, Scrub of Your Life exfoliator, Hand Food, Heel Genius, The Righteous Butter, Sugar Crush body wash, Peaches and Clean 3 in 1 facial cleanser, Extreme Plump lipgloss and Thick and Fast mascara, all in a gorgeous toiletry bag.

I’ve been using these products religiously and if you haven’t tried the Soap and Glory range out before, you really should!

20140111-010259.jpg

7) Next necklace

Last but not least is this gorgeous necklace which my mum and dad Santa bought me for Christmas!

I love statement necklaces and this one will go with literally anything! The silver and cream gems don’t look cheap and the necklace can add a classy and dressy edge to the most casual outfit.

20140111-010638.jpg

Leave a Reply

